top of page
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Bandcamp
  • Youtube

PIXVAE

PIXVAE
MAMITA
03:47
Pixvae _ Oí Vé
05:37
Pixvae en session live
10:06

Pixvae keeps evolving during its constant research of balance between the festive essence of currulao, this afro-colombian traditional music, and the wicks lit by the pioneering researchers of Lyon’s musical underground. The code name of this off-road adventure is « Chonta-21 ». It sounds like the name of a highway between Cali and Lyon : watch out the unexpected turns and thrilling yaws ! At the traffic jam of Africa, Atlantic and Pacific’s crossroad, the head-chief switchman is once again named Romain Dugelay. From the origins of this trans-continental odyssey, he composes maps, couples territories and offers new perspectives. Faithful to the ongoing hybridization tradition of the music from the black meta-continent, he articulates this new repertoire with a focus on the Marimba de Chonta, central instrument of currulao. With his longstanding partners (Léo Dumont on drums & Damien Cluzel on guitar) from the Kouma power trio, Romain Dugelay’s saxophones and keys meet up with the Juan Carlos Arrechea’s marimba, fundamental encounter during the 2017 « Kaixu » tour, and with Israël Quinones, who appeared in 2019 on « Cali ». The first named is brought to push rhythmics and sounds of his instrument to the boundaries of jazz and rock. The second one adds his voice to the cantadora Jennifer « Xiomora » Torres who just turns up in the venture. These last three are the basis of melodic works with the proposal of original lyrics, for a modern rereading of topics stem from currulao.

ALBUM Oì Vé

The Cie 4000 unveils a new crunchy album with the aim of shaking up even more the landscape of globalized music! The gushing franco-colombian combo Pixvae is back and we already feel the vibes of the trance coming from its new album. Pixvae releases “Oì Vé”, a supercharged cocktail that sounds like an invitation to a festive and mystic trip between Cali and Lyon. The magical formula stays the same: the blast of Colombian currulao with an alloy mined from the depths of rock and jazz. However “Oì Vé” marks an evolution within this unfettered reinterpretation of this afro-colombian traditional music.This new repertoire revolves around the Marimba de Chonta, central instrument of currulao. The original French team, with the power trio Kouma and the vocal power of Margaux Delatour, gets back with joy to the Colombian accomplices Juan Carlo Arrechea (marimba and percussions), Israël Quinones (percussions and vocals) et Jennifer “Xiomora” Torres (vocals). This subtle and powerful combination grows even larger with original compositions and lyrics that provide a new dimension to the initial energy of the band, which initially comes from traditional repertoire… Pixvae remains an epic journey across borders!

”Shakes, jolts and a journey as mystical as it is festive: welcome to the illuminated slopes of a revisited traditional rhythm..” Rolling Stone

”Between polyrhythms and Afro-Colombian songs, rock-noise energy and jazzcore, the Franco-Colombian group takes us into its intoxicating trance.” FIP

"As mystical as they are noisy, their electric trance should have an effect." TELERAMA

"Pixvae is the infectious joy of Afro-Colombian songs and rhythms that border on trance, carried by the jolts and energy of jazz and European rock” FIP 

"There are successful musical transplants, transplants that no one dares to believe that suddenly come to life and this is the case of the Pixvae musical experience." FRANCE CULTURE

"An explosive mix between traditional Colombian rhythms, solemn folk songs and hardcore with a jazz twist." JAZZ NEWS

"On the solid foundations of currulao, Pixvae builds a brawling rock mixed with jazz, replacing marimba patterns with fierce guitars and the visceral pulsations of cununos and bombos with shaking drums." THE WIRE

news


- New live-report video of the 2024’s tour to be release fall 2024

- New album recording and to be released 2025/26

highlights

Womex, Womad, Latino Power Festival Bogota, Pohoda Festival, Nancy Jazz Pulsation, Golbaltica Festival, Jazz à Vienne, Les Suds à Arles, Aux Heures d’été, Bimhuis, Jazz à la Villette, Les Vielles Charrues, Katowice Jazz Art Festival…

tour 2024

19.01 L’Astrolabe Figeac (46)

20.01 Albi Jazz Festival Albi (81)

23.01 Jumeaux Jazz Club Lausanne (CH)

26.01 La Grande Boutique Kergrist-Moëlou (22)

27.01 Antre Peaux Bourges (18)

31.01 Live RFI Paris (75)

01.02 Paul B Massy (91)

02.02 Théâtre les 3 Chênes Laval (53)

03.02 Le Périscope Lyon (69)

04.02 La Lampisterie Brassac-les-Mines (63)

12.07 Jazz A Vienne Vienne (38)

13.07 Les Fêtes Escales Vénissieux (69)

18.07 La Naute Champagnat (23)

19.07 Les Scènes d’été Beauvais (60)

20.07 Fest Globaltica Gdynia (PL)

21.07 Summer Jazz Academy Fest Lodz (Pl)

22.07 Workshop Summer Jazz Academy Lodz (Pl)

24.07 Zamek Culture Centre Poznan (Pl)

29.07 Festival du Péristyle Lyon (69)

30.07 Festival du Péristyle Lyon (69)

31.07 Guinguette Chez Alriq Bordeaux (33)

01.08 Fest La Tempora Narbonne (11)

03.08 Fest Bonnac Plage Bonnac (09)

04.08 Festival de Comboros Saint-Gervais-d’Auvergne (63) 

11.10 Espace DjangoStrasbourg (67)

13.10 Nancy Jazz Pulsation Nancy (54)

18.10 La Grange à Musique Creil (60)

24.10 La Cordo Romans-sur-Isère (26)

25.10 La Fabrik Saint-Martin-en-Haut (69)

30.10 Open Air Durango Café Pau (64)

31.10 L’Atelier du Neez Jurançon (64)

01.11 Fest Locombia - Le Taquin Toulouse (31)

07.11 Le Gorille Gap (05)

08.11 La Soierie Faverges (74)

09.11 Kartell Culturel Bienne (Ch)

 2025 

27.02 La Cave 12 Genève (73) 

28.02 Klangfarben Kuftein (Au)

01.03 Les Monts de l’Utopie Rochesson (88)

BOOKING INFO

Thibault  +33 6 60 68 26 08

tib@palmier-rouge.com

6 musicians + 2 technicians, based in Lyon, available March 2025 / Fall 2025

Jennyfer "Xiomara" Torres: voice & guasa
Israel Quinones: voice & guasa
Damien Cluzel: electric guitar
Romain Dugelay: baritone Saxophon
Juan Carlos Arrechea: drums & chonta marimba
Léo Dumont: drums

bottom of page

top of page
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Bandcamp
  • Youtube

PIXVAE

PIXVAE
PIXVAE _ nouvel album "Oì Vé" _ le 17 mars 2023
01:03
PIXVAE _ Vamos a Celebrar _ Official video
03:56
MAMITA
03:47
Pixvae _ Oí Vé
05:37
LES SESSIONS DE POCHE / Pixvae _ Vengo
04:21
Pixvae en session live
10:06

Pixvae évolue encore dans sa permanente recherche d’équilibre entre l’essence festive du currulao, musique traditionnelle afro-colombienne, et les mèches allumées par des têtes chercheuses de l’underground lyonnais. Le nom de cette nouvelle explosion, “Oì Vé” sonne comme une invitation et résonne de Cali à Lyon. Au carrefour embouteillé de l’Afrique, de l’Atlantique et du Pacifique, l’aiguillonneur en chef se nomme toujours Romain Dugelay. Depuis les débuts de l’épopée transe-continentale, il compose les cartographies, associe les territoires et offre de nouvelles perspectives. Fidèle à la tradition d’hybridation permanente des musiques du méta-continent noir, il articule ce nouveau répertoire autour d’un focus sur la Marimba de Chonta, instrument central du currulao. Avec deux complices de longue date (Léo Dumont, batterie & Damien Cluzel, guitare) du power trio Kouma, les sax et claviers de Romain Dugelay retrouvent la marimba de Juan Carlos Arrechea, rencontre fondamentale lors de la tournée de la cuvée 2017 « Kaixu », et d’Israël Quinones, apparu en 2019 sur « Cali ». Le premier est amené à pousser les capacités rythmiques et sonores de son instrument dans les retranchements du jazz et du rock. Le second joint sa voix à celle de la cantadora Jennifer « Xiomora » Torres qui déboule également dans l’aventure depuis « Cali ». L’équipe colombienne est au pied de l’œuvre mélodique avec la proposition de textes originaux pour une relecture moderne des thématiques originellement issues du currulao. ©Amaury Rullière

ALBUM Oì Vé

La Compagnie 4000 dévoile un nouvel album crunchy pour bousculer encore un peu plus le paysage des musiques mondialisées ! C’est le retour du bouillonnant combo franco-colombien Pixvae, et l’on se prend déjà à sentir les effluves de transe que contient ce dernier opus. Avec « Oì Vé », Pixvae revient dans les bacs avec un cocktail survitaminé qui sonne comme une invitation à un voyage aussi mystique que festif entre Cali et Lyon. La formule, déjà largement reconnue comme magique, reste la même : la déflagration du currulao colombien entré en contact avec un alliage extrait des profondeurs du rock et du jazz. Mais « Oì Vé » marque une nouvelle évolution dans cette relecture libérée de cette musique traditionnelle afro-colombienne. Ce nouveau répertoire s’articule autour de la Marimba de Chonta, instrument central du currulao. L’équipée française originelle, avec le power trio Kouma et la puissance vocale de Margaux Delatour, retrouve avec un bonheur non dissimulé les complices colombien.ne.s Juan Carlos Arrechea (marimba et percus), Israël Quinones (percus et voix) et Jennifer « Xiomora » Torres (voix). Cette combinaison puissante et subtile prend encore plus d’ampleur avec ces compositions et ces textes originaux, qui offrent une nouvelle résonance avec l’énergie initiale du groupe, venue des chants traditionnels… Tout en gardant bien au chaud le caractère complètement épique de cette épopée transe-frontalière ! ©Amaury Rullière.

” Secousses, soubresauts et voyage aussi mystique que festif : bienvenu sur les pentes illuminées d’un rythme traditionnel revisité.” Rolling Stone

” Entre polyrythmies et chants afro-colombiens, énergie rock-noise et jazzcore, le groupe franco-colombien nous embarque dans sa transe enivrante.” FIP

"Aussi mystique que bruitiste leur transe électrique devrait faire de l'effet." TELERAMA

"Pixvae c’est la joie communicative des chants et des rythmes afro-colombiens qui confinent à la transe, portée par les soubresauts et l’énergie du jazz et du rock européen.” FIP 

"Il est des transplantations musicales réussies, des greffes auxquelles personne n'ose croire qui prennent soudain vie et c'est le cas de l'expérience musicale Pixvae." FRANCE CULTURE

 

"Un mélange détonnant entre rythmes traditionnels colombiens, chansons folkloriques solennelles et hardcore à la sauce jazz." JAZZ NEWS
 

"On the solid foundations of currulao, Pixvae builds a brawling rock mixed with jazz, replacing marimba patterns with fierce guitars and the visceral pulsations of cununos and bombos with shaking drums." THE WIRE

ACTUS

• Nouvelle vidéo live-report de la tournée 2024 à paraître cet automne 

• Nouvel album enregistré et à paraître en 2025/26

scenes

Womex, Womad, Latino Power Festival Bogota, Pohoda Festival, Nancy Jazz Pulsation, Golbaltica Festival, Jazz à Vienne, Les Suds à Arles, Aux Heures d’été, Bimhuis, Jazz à la Villette, Les Vielles Charrues, Katowice Jazz Art Festival…

CONCERTS 2024

19.01 L’Astrolabe Figeac (46)

20.01 Albi Jazz Festival Albi (81)

23.01 Jumeaux Jazz Club Lausanne (CH)

26.01 La Grande Boutique Kergrist-Moëlou (22)

27.01 Antre Peaux Bourges (18)

31.01 Live RFI Paris (75)

01.02 Paul B Massy (91)

02.02 Théâtre les 3 Chênes Laval (53)

03.02 Le Périscope Lyon (69)

04.02 La Lampisterie Brassac-les-Mines (63)

12.07 Jazz A Vienne Vienne (38)

13.07 Les Fêtes Escales Vénissieux (69)

18.07 La Naute Champagnat (23)

19.07 Les Scènes d’été Beauvais (60)

20.07 Fest Globaltica Gdynia (PL)

21.07 Summer Jazz Academy Fest Lodz (Pl)

22.07 Workshop Summer Jazz Academy Lodz (Pl)

24.07 Zamek Culture Centre Poznan (Pl)

29.07 Festival du Péristyle Lyon (69)

30.07 Festival du Péristyle Lyon (69)

31.07 Guinguette Chez Alriq Bordeaux (33)

01.08 Fest La Tempora Narbonne (11)

03.08 Fest Bonnac Plage Bonnac (09)

04.08 Festival de Comboros Saint-Gervais-d’Auvergne (63) 

11.10 Espace DjangoStrasbourg (67)

13.10 Nancy Jazz Pulsation Nancy (54)

18.10 La Grange à Musique Creil (60)

24.10 La Cordo Romans-sur-Isère (26)

25.10 La Fabrik Saint-Martin-en-Haut (69)

30.10 Open Air Durango Café Pau (64)

31.10 L’Atelier du Neez Jurançon (64)

01.11 Fest Locombia - Le Taquin Toulouse (31)

07.11 Le Gorille Gap (05)

08.11 La Soierie Faverges (74)

09.11 Kartell Culturel Bienne (Ch)

 2025 

27.02 La Cave 12 Genève (73) 

28.02 Klangfarben Kuftein (Au)

01.03 Les Monts de l’Utopie Rochesson (88)

BOOKING INFO

Thibault  +33 6 60 68 26 08

tib@palmier-rouge.com

6 musicien.ne.s + 2 technicien, basé.e.s à Lyon, disponible Mars 2025 / Automne 2025

Jennyfer "Xiomara" Torres : chant & guasà
Israël Quinones : chant & guasà
Damien Cluzel : guitare
Romain Dugelay : sax baryton
Juan Carlos Arrechea : percussions & marimba de chonta
Léo Dumont : batterie

bottom of page